EDUC 5215 Journal #2

In today’s class we were discussing our journeys in this course, by discussing how the course themes trigger our emotions or interests, our point of departure,  our destination.

So the themes that I have come up with after looking at deeper detail at the course description are:

  • Analysis of how policy is created
  • The ideal and actual forms of the policy cycle
  • How to create sustainable feedback systems
  • How to use appropriate analytic approaches to the study of data
  • How to use appropriate analytic techniques to analyze policy choices.

The themes or topics we will cover in this course trigger and relate to my interest in international relations and law. I have studied (with regards to politics, not educational policy) how laws are made and how treaties are agreed upon and become binding on the consenting states. So this is an educational interest of mine. I have radical feelings about how laws are created and in many instances I go with the idea that ‘there is no public international law’ that is absolutely binding. In other words, there is no international constitution that governs relations between nations. I am very interested to know how these ideas relate to educational policy and how that in turn affects educational institutions and how they are run or governed. I am somewhat critical when it comes to policy makers making public statements that are filled with un-understandable language to the public. So in an effort to understand these public statements, I would be very interested to learn how to analyze data presented as well as policy decisions that affect the public to a great extent.

My point of departure; where I am currently in relation to my knowledge and interest about these (sub)themes:

As we stand currently, my knowledge is limited to the political science and international relations fields. As I mentioned before, I am not quite academically aware of educational policy on an analytical level. I have also studied and read a lot about propaganda and public policy, which informed me about how policy makers and politicians address problems and how they phrase certain things. From my readings and ongoing research, I have come to form the opinion that there is severe lack of transparency on the part of most politicians towards the public, which consequently made me negatively critical when listening to public statements, debates, arguments and quite frankly even the news.

My destination; what I would like to hear others say about me, after taking this course, when I produce an academic/policy piece that touches on the issues surrounding these (sub)themes:

I would like to reach a point where I relate international politics to educational politics. I would like to be an intellectual that can analytically read between the lines when it comes to educational policy, and therefore be able to relay that in my writings and my research. I would also like to reach the point where I don’t only analyze political content, but also the lack thereof. I would also want to be able to analyze politicians’ attitudes about certain aspects, not just what they say but also how they behave (Whether they make something a big deal or not). Philosophers like Foucault are my role models because of their radical, yet very relatable and true, ideologies, which apply to every context being studied. I would like to be a critical reader, thinker and, ideally, writer about educational policy analysis.

Hearing what my classmates had to say, as answers to these questions was actually a very nice activity, because it made me know a lot of things about them and the way they are approaching the program, the course, and their journeys.

Stay tuned for next week’s reflections. We’ll read about Policy Framing so I’m excited to read & report.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

